Many Happy Returns Of The Day, Amma

Kaivalya Vanguri
5 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Me and my mom 20 years ago

I am blessed to have you as my mom (Amma). You have always been a pillar and a spiritual guide with a kindred spirit full of compassion, empathy, generosity and kindness. The tag, I gave you 15 years ago still fits you perfectly. On this day, I would like to talk about her on how we all can learn at least a few things from her attitude towards life.

She was a strong advocate for not hurting any sentient being. I still remember one such instance, I was 2-3 years old when this happened. I got badly bit by some ants and from then on, I went on a mission to kill any ant that came under my radar. She as my constant caretaker, observed my newfound mission and immediately started counseling me as to why killing them without a reason is inhumane. She was the first person who explained to me that any sentient must be treated the way I want to be treated, i.e. with kindness and compassion and that deriving pleasure from the misery of any being is like nurturing evil inside us.

Me and My Mom at Maldives 17 years ago

She prioritized moulding my personality, emotional and mental health, instilling self-worth and empathy in me over her high-paying job and prospective career. All this to make sure there would be no deficiency in raising me.

Now, what sets my mother apart is that as a homemaker, she always had time to notice all of my misdemeanours and misadventures. She tried to understand the reason behind such acts, and if they were wrong, she added the reasoning and consequences of such deeds. So that the doer (I) understand what was wrong and why it was wrong rather than being blatantly scolded and punished and expected to understand things on my own. An approach that I seldom see in Mothers around me.

Me and My Mom at Vizag 12 years ago.

She has been the most observant and understanding person I have ever met, with the highest emotional quotient. Her attitude towards life and approach to parenthood has always been a unique blend of learning and improvising from experiences, patience and far-sightedness. Though she was a mom biologically only to me, she raised almost 3 of her nieces and 1 nephew from their day 1 and throughout their infancy. She has been the coolest Aunt to them, and these aren’t my words. I find them unfolding and revealing their personality and their interests along with life aspirations only to her with a sense of security. She has always provided a safe zone for them to share their troubles and give mindful advice only when they asked for it. This was possible because she treated everyone, including children, as distinct and strong individuals with their own individuality, choices and interests.

In short, she has always been a ‘Mother Of All’. She did everything in her capacity to provide the best for everyone. Of all the people, I must have done more good Karma to experience her selfless love and be born to her as her daughter.

Me and My Mom 6 years ago

She isn’t just a great mom but a wonderful human being. She has always strived to help me achieve the highest form of intellect -- wisdom to find the true purpose of my life and understand how my life can be for the greater good.

She always said,

I try to enrich your soul and not just your body. For, the body is a mortal vessel to which I gave birth, something that will wear off someday, but your soul is immortal with which I may or may not have a connection in my past lives. But now, as a Mother, I consider it my duty to enlighten you in this life to not accumulate baggage (Karma) that will lead to your multiple reincarnations and, in turn, trap your pure soul in an unending cycle of births and deaths (Maya). I want to do my bit in liberating your soul from this Maya (World).

In my 21 years of short life span, I have never ever seen a mother who has the ability to think beyond average human comprehension and think more about her child’s inner light than her mortal body. Although this reflects her deep roots and strong belief in Hinduism the takeaway for every mother here should be to focus on building, nourishing and cherishing your child’s inner light, rather than only focusing on their materialistic needs and wants.

There are several such instances that set her apart from this entire world. Hence, it wouldn’t be an exaggeration to call her love the epitome of selfless mother-love.

Me and My Mom 4 years ago.

Amma, a simple exterior and a divine soul within, you have been an inspiration to everyone who was blessed to meet you at some point in their life. On this day, I wish you a very Happy Birthday, and I wish for more such days to come. I wish you an abundance of health, and I wish you everything that you have wished for me.

Saashtang dandpranams to you for giving me life, imparting knowledge and wisdom and providing everything. I would never be able to repay the things that you gave me in this life.

--

--